Warren named to All Summer League team - WSFX - FOX Wilmington, NC

Warren named to All Summer League team

Posted: Updated:
LAS VEGAS, July 21, 2014 – T.J. Warren of the Phoenix Suns was named to the Samsung All-NBA Summer League Second Team, as selected by a panel of media members. The 14th overall pick of the 2014 NBA Draft, Warren averaged a team-high 17.8 points on .544 shooting and 4.8 rebounds in five games for the Suns in Las Vegas.

Glen Rice, Jr. of the Washington Wizards was unanimously named Most Valuable Player of the Samsung NBA Summer League 2014, while nine additional standout players, including Warren, highlight the Samsung All-NBA Summer League First and Second teams.  The summer classic has featured 24 teams competing in a total of 67 games over 11 days and will culminate tonight in the Championship game between the 14th seeded Houston Rockets and the 8th seeded Sacramento Kings. The Championship game will air live on NBA TV at 9 p.m. Eastern/ 6 p.m. Pacific.   

Rice, Jr. played in six games in Las Vegas, helping the Wizards advance to the semifinals of the Samsung NBA Summer League tournament and secure a 5-1 record at the event.  He averaged a league-leading 25 points on .469 shooting, to go along with 7.8 rebounds and 2.5 steals.

Rice, Jr. is joined on the Samsung All-NBA Summer League First Team by Wizards teammate Otto Porter, along with Chicago Bulls Doug McDermott and Tony Snell and Donatas Motiejunas of the Houston Rockets.

Warren, Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz), Tim Hardaway, Jr. (New York Knicks), Jordan McRae (Philadelphia 76ers) and Russ Smith (New Orleans Pelicans) make up the Samsung All-NBA Summer League Second Team. 

Samsung NBA Summer League 2014 has featured a tournament-style schedule for the second consecutive year, with the Golden State Warriors having won the inaugural championship in 2013.  Each of the participating teams played three games apiece between July 11 and 15 before being seeded in the tournament, which tipped off on July 16 and will run through the championship game on July 21.

The Samsung All-NBA Summer League teams are listed below.

Samsung All-NBA Summer League First Team

Doug McDermott – Chicago Bulls

Donatas Motiejunas – Houston Rockets

Otto Porter – Washington Wizards

Glen Rice, Jr. – Washington Wizards

Tony Snell – Chicago Bulls

Samsung All-NBA Summer League Second Team

Rudy Gobert – Utah Jazz

Tim Hardaway, Jr. – New York Knicks

Jordan McRae – Philadelphia 76ers

Russ Smith – New Orleans Pelicans

T.J. Warren – Phoenix Suns

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WSFX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
FCC Public File
Email: publicfile@wsfx.com
Phone: 910-343-8826
EEO Report
Closed Captioning